Looking Into The Promise ~ Eudora

Late last year I was studying a promise that God made to some folks by the names of Abraham and Sarah. God told them that they would have a baby. Abraham was one hundred years old at the time, so he kinda felt it was unlikely that he would be able to give his wife a child since he was so old. Abraham doubted God.

Many folks doubt God, in fact there are many folks who do not even believe in God, or they have decided that He can be their God as long as they get to pick and choose what they will do with Him and how often He is invited to walk with them, instead of realizing and welcoming Him into every aspect of their lives and trusting that His ways are best and trusting in Him all the way, no matter what comes along.

I grew up in what I call a box, a building made of four walls and floor and a ceiling that most folks refer to as a church. In this box, I was taught all about a God who was mean and as a result, I didn’t want anything to do with Him because He had a bunch of rules that I didn’t want to follow..

If God had approached me when I wasn’t ready for Him, I would have never been able to hear Him call me, much less allow Him to use me. But He did. Jesus kept calling me and I would go along for a little while and then something would come up and I wanted to live life my way, so I put Him on a shelf. I didn’t want to go all the way with Jesus, in complete surrender to His will and not my own. I still struggle on issues, but over the last five years I have been in training and I am learning that His ways are not my ways. They are His ways and I must learn to seek His ways, so that I can live the way that He intends for me to live so that I can glorify Him and not myself.

Abraham and Sarah had doubts too. They struggled and did things their own way. Just for a few instances, God had sent them to a certain land that He said that He would show them and they went there but when famine hit the land instead of trusting God and asking for His help, they went down to Egypt and just as they were approaching the border, Abraham told his wife to lie and say that she was his sister.

As the story goes on, the palace officials see Sarah’s beauty and the Pharaoh takes Sarah as part of his harem. The Pharaoh later finds out that Sarah is actually Abraham’s wife and they are kicked out of Egypt.

But before the Pharaoh found all this out, he had given Abraham sheep cattle, donkey’s, male and female servants and camels. When they left Egypt, they actually leave with more than they had gone to Egypt with and I believe that this is where Sarah ended up with her Egyptian handmaiden by the name of Hagar.

After God had told Sarah that she would have a child, instead of waiting for God to keep His promise, she conned her husband Abraham into sleeping with her hand maiden so that they could hurry up the process of having a baby. Hagar gives birth to Ishmael. Sarah had taken matters into her own hands by giving Hagar to her husband but I don’t want to lay all the blame on her because Abraham didn’t quite believe that he could have a child either. If he had, he would have told his wife, “No, I don’t want your handmaiden and we will wait upon the Lord God Almighty.”

Out of this lack of faith came a series of problems and this is what happens to us when we do not wait upon the Lord and trust Him that He will do what He says.

Time seems to be our greatest test and we are not a patient people because we live in a fast paced world. We want this and that and we want it now…

But alas, after hearing God make this promise to them a few times, a visit by a few angels and the Lord Himself, Sarah actually does have a son, birthed from her own womb and she gives him the name of Isaac.

Like Abraham and like Sarah, we struggle against God’s will for our lives and it is not until we do this a few times, just like they did; that we can watch God work in our lives in spite of what we do or try to do in our own will. Once we see that God does eventually work it out and that God even gets us out of some of our blunders, that we can begin to trust that God’s way really is the best way after all.

The way to bring peace to our troubled lives and to our heart is to focus on His promise. Trust and obey, for there’s no other way… to be happy in Jesus…. but to trust and obey. Trust that God will do , everything He said that He will do and that His word, the scriptures in the Bible are 100 percent absolute and believe it no matter what anyone else has to say about it. Trust God and obey God. Believe in His Son Yahushua/ Christ Jesus.

God loved this ole world so much that God gave His only Son so that everyone who believes in Jesus, will not perish, but have everlasting life.

God did not send His Son into this world to condemn it because His desire is that by sending His Son, that those who live in this world, might just believe in His Son and not live a condemned life.

The Bible tells us that those who don’t believe are already condemned. In other words, when we do not believe in Jesus, we have already been judged for not believing in the only Son of God. God’s desire is that none perish, but that everyone comes to repentance.

What does repentance mean? It means that we all come to a place in our life where we realize our need for Jesus and decide that His way is the only way and choose His Son as our Savior and King and Lord of our life. Then we ask Jesus to forgive us of all of our past sin, hurts or wrong doing, maybe things that we have done that we regret and ask Him to forgive us.

The Bible tells us If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If God has forgiven us of our sins, then why do we have to confess our sin? By admitting our sin and receiving Christ’s Jesus cleansing blood to heal us of our sin, we are coming into agreement with God that our sin is sin and that we are making a conscience decision that we will turn away from sin. We can’t hide our sin from Him, so it really is pointless to try. We can’t overcome sin by ourselves, we really do need Jesus to help us.

We will always be a sinner until we die and are out of these bodies of flesh, but we have to work at not making a willful decision to do something that we know is wrong.

Confession is supposed to free us to enjoy a fellowship or maybe a better word is a relationship with Christ Jesus. In the past I have felt so guilty and confessed my sins over and over and would try to move forward with God, but like I said, I would end up putting Him on a shelf and doing what I wanted to do and that seemed to ease my guilt.

It wasn’t until I realized that I hadn’t really given my all to Him that I made what I might call a true confession and a commitment to not continue in sin and to do everything I could to learn about how He wanted me to live instead of guessing and making my own assumptions with out reading a single word of my Bible. Reading my Bible is when I finally began to understand that I had to do my part in the relationship like I would in any other relationship. I also began a prayer life, so that I could just tell Him how I felt and ask Him to help me become what He wanted me to be instead of what I wanted to be.

For me, the clincher is that God said that He would never forsake me and I hold Him accountable to His promise. “Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, He it is that doth go with thee; He will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.”

His promise to me is that I do not have to panic or be afraid of anything because He Himself will personally go ahead of me, and He will never fail me, nor will He abandon me. There is nothing that I will ever go through that Jesus did not go through first. I often wonder if homeless people know that Jesus didn’t even have a place to lay His head. I wonder too if adopted children know that the daddy that raised Jesus was in a sense, His adopted dad. Jesus even knew what it was like to be away from God because of sin. Remember? Jesus took on all the sin of the world when He was on the cross and cried out, “Why hast thou forsaken me?” God can not look upon sin and this is exactly why we all need Jesus to take away our sin. God can look at Jesus because Jesus conquered sin and death for us, because there was no way that we ever could conquer sin and death on our own.

What have we got to loose? The Bible also tells us that Jesus said “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” The Bible tells us that there is salvation in no one else! God has given no other name under heaven by which we must be saved.” We can think how ever we want to think, but we absolutely can not make it with out Jesus. There simply is no other way. The Bible shares with us these words; There is a way that seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death. Easier understood is that there is a path before each person that seems right, but it ends in death. We must choose life and we must choose Jesus to have eternal life. We must believe in Him and accept the path that He led as our example and then follow in His footsteps.

All of this to say that what I learned is that God will keep His promises. It is because of our doubt, and worry, fear and lack of faith that we often forfeit the complete peace of God that He will keep His promises.

About eudoranachand

A Spirit filled disciple who continually seeks His kingdom and His righteousness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

