A Study of Hebrews Chapter Four

Hebrews 4:1-10 ¶ Let us therefore fear, lest, a promise being left us of entering into his rest, any of you should seem to come short of it. For unto us was the gospel preached, as well as unto them: but the word preached did not profit them, not being mixed with faith in them that heard it.  For we which have believed do enter into rest, as he said, As I have sworn in my wrath, if they shall enter into my rest: although the works were finished from the foundation of the world. For he spake in a certain place of the seventh day on this wise, And God did rest the seventh day from all his works. And in this place again, If they shall enter into my rest. Seeing therefore it remaineth that some must enter therein, and they to whom it was first preached entered not in because of unbelief:  Again, he limiteth a certain day, saying in David, To day, after so long a time; as it is said, To day if ye will hear his voice, harden not your hearts. For if Jesus had given them rest, then would he not afterward have spoken of another day. There remaineth therefore a rest to the people of God. {rest: or, keeping of a sabbath} For he that is entered into his rest, he also hath ceased from his own works, as God did from his.

The Good news the Israelites heard was the promise of entering His rest in the Promised Land; the Good News, which has been proclaimed to us, is of course that we enter the rest that comes from knowing that the laws required judgment for our sin has been  forgiven.

We know that God continues working because of this scripture: John 5:17 ¶ But Jesus answered them, My Father worketh hitherto, and I work.

The folks in the wilderness wanted to turn back to Egypt.  I suspect that the folks, to whom this letter was written, were possibly thinking the same thing.

In both sets of peoples, (The Messianic Jews to whom this letter was written and those who followed the Spirit of God in the wolderness) their present moments had to have been overshadowed with the thoughts of the promised land in front of them.  Their physical and ours, in paradise one day during the thousand year reign and beyond through eternity.

Sometimes the enemy creeps in and tries to persuade us that what we read is not true and that it is just a book and all of those types of lies, that God and His WORD are not true.  I think this is why God gives us our personal testimonies, and repeatedly proof in our personal lives that He is real.  This is the way that it is for me.

Even though the word of God endures forever, it is just a book. However, the difference in our minds is that we know that we know that we know that the words in our Bibles are breathing and alive.

They have the fresh breath of the Spirit, every day and they ALWAYS will. The word of God endures forever.  The writer of this letter professes in our second chapter that he (us) did not hear the word of salvation directly from the Lord, whereas Paul did.  If Paul did write this letter, he did not leave in the letter to the Hebrews, his usual clues, such as his name and his outbursts of emotions that are so characteristic of his writings.

Hebrews 2:3-4 How shall we escape, if we neglect so great salvation; which at the first began to be spoken by the Lord, and was confirmed unto us by them that heard him; God also bearing them witness, both with signs and wonders, and with divers miracles, and gifts of the Holy Ghost, according to his own will?

No matter, ties still a letter from which we learn great truths.

Sometimes, we too begin to doubt God’s word to us.  Does He really keep His promises?  During these times, we might begin to recite them, so that they sink way down deep into our souls. Still at other times we begin to trust our own efforts instead of trusting Him and this is where we are in danger of slipping back into our own Egypt mentality or thinking.

We just have to lean not on to our own understanding but in all of our ways, all of them… trust Him with all of our heart. When we acknowledge Him, He will direct us. He never fails. Even though the folks in the wilderness were a stiff-necked people, God never failed them. Moreover, He will never fail us either.

Hebrews 4:11-16 ¶ Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest, lest any man fall after the same example of unbelief. {Unbelief: or, disobedience}  For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do. Seeing then that we have a great high priest, that is passed into the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our profession. For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.

I was raised in the church.  My father was an ordained minister and of course, my mother was his wife.  The home I grew up in did not have once single ounce of “I love you”. Not from my dad and not from my mom and as a result, when both of them died, my siblings, who did not know how to love, well we each went our own way.

In 2005, I had made a decision to take myself out of this world because I saw the ugliness getting worse and worse in my personal life as well as in the world around me.  While in the process, I found my old dusty bible in my hands and only one scripture stood out larger than life.

For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Hebrews 4:12

It was the only scripture that I saw that day on the two pages.  As I focused on these words, I came to so many conclusions.

1.  God knew what I was thinking and He was letting me know that He loved me and did not want me to do what I was thinking.  He knew my thoughts and my intentions to separate my soul and spirit from the body and the bones that now hold His dwelling place.  (It sure did not that day though)

2.  He loved me enough to show me that He knows me.

3.  This also showed me that when we die, our bones and our joints are separated from the soul and spirit, which lives on in eternal life upon our resurrection, once we choose life.  (Which I sure did)

When we are resurrected, whatever parts make up the glorious body will come together again in Lord Yahushua. I have no question as to what happens when I die as Yahushua showed us when He ascended that He had a new translated body and this is the very same body that He will come back with.

4.  This scripture also showed me that nothing on this earth would penetrate the soul and spirit that is living inside of humankind, stronger than the Word of God.  He said, “Let there be light” and there was light.  He spoke and now I am alive, more than I ever have been in my entire 53 years. (Early 2012)  I still believe too that when He returns and gives that shout we have read about and the trump of God sounds, it will be almost as if He has lifted the veil of His bride and He is so excited to meet up with us.

5.  This scripture also showed me that only God’s word could separate our soul and spirit from our body.  His spoken word can divide our way of thinking as well. Where I was thinking about taking myself out, now all I think of is my inheritance of eternal life with Him.

6.  This scripture says that His word is quick.  This means it is alive.  The words of scripture are words that are spoken and ordained by God in the alpha and the omega.  They are alive today as they were the day they were spoken from His mouth.  His word is alive.  It is active.  It is a work in progress every day.  It will work in our life if we let it speak to us.  It will actively work in our circumstance in each day, in each circumstance.

So you see, yes there can be many opinions and conclusions because His word is meant for each of us as an individual for the season that He is taking us through, during that season.  I may go back two years from now and see a completely new meaning of this very same scripture because God is God to all humanity in all circumstances.

Though my walk I have also learned too that His opinion is the only one that matters.  His opinion of me is what I strive for because I do not want to disappoint Him.  You see, I grew up with Yahushua and knew all about God, but I was never told that He loved me.  Not by my mom and not by my dad.  The God of Love that they raised me to know is not the same God that I know now.

You see, I fell in love that day, with Yahushua.  He is the lover of my soul. My folks were raised in religion and so was I.  I have since come to understand that religion is what separated me from Yahushua in the first place.  I now have a relationship with Yahushua and I live larger than life itself, because I have His abundant life and His Joy is my strength. PS:  The world looks awfully different too.  I do not see the doom and gloom that I saw before He sent His Spirit to teach and guide me. All I see is His bright Light in everything that is all around me.  I see light in everything I look at.  Even humankind has His Spirit living in them because we are created in His image and God is Spirit.  Some have yet to have His Spirit manifested and given yeild for its permission to teach us.

The Bible’s words do not merely speak in dead tones of something that is past and forgotten or even done away with.  It applies living truth to us and is as relevant in our lives today as it was to the folks mentioned in the beginning of created time. We can read with an open heart and mind and let the word penetrate deeply into our daily lives.  The inner reflections and attitudes of the heart will come under judgment when the Holy Spirit wants to convict us of what ever He deems necessary and this is why we read that all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of Him with Whom we have to do.

However, the WORD of God is also Yahushua.  When He returns to conquer the wicked at the END OF DAYS, He is called ‘the word of God’ and out of His mouth comes a sharp sword; while the eyes of Him to Whom we must render an account are described as “like a fiery flame” (Rev19: 11-15).  God has committed all judgment to His Son.

Even though Yahushua will one day be our judge, He is now our intercessor and advocate ( Our High Priest) so that we can find grace in our time of need.

It was in early 2012 that I made a cool connection.  The folks in the wilderness always waited outside of the tabernacle when the High Priest went in on the Day of Atonement (Once a year every year) to see if he would come out alive or be slain for the sin of the people as a nation of people.  We too are awaiting for our High Priest to come out of the heavenly santuary to announce that we too have our sin forgiven.  Yahushua,  our High Priest made an atonemnet once for all and for now,  we just like the folks in the wilderness must trust that He is faithful to keep and attend to His word.

The reason that we can go boldly to the throne is because of what Yahushua did.  Not anything that we have done. Because He came as a man and lived life as we do in human flesh, He understands everything there is to know about the trials and tribulations of being man in the flesh. He also understands and knows the joys of being in the flesh and the hope that we have because of Him.  It is all because of Him that we can bask in the glory of the Father beneath the throne of grace in His presence, but here we are told that it is because of His priestly work.  Yahushua, is right there at the right hand of the throne, interceding for us.

In every respect, Yahushua was tempted just like us.   In fact, in the three temptations alone out in the wilderness with the enemy, Yahushua was tempted in the physical, the emotional and the spiritual. ( I am working on that study)

Because we have been united with Him through the Spirit, we can follow Him; we can sit with Him, just as the high priest could commune with God in the Tabernacle in the wilderness near the mercy seat.  We can do this all year, not only once a year.

We too can be close to Him and His loving nearness.  Like Moses and Abraham, we can experience His mercy and grace as we come face to face with Him in our daily communion as we sit at His feet, reading of His word, meditating upon it and spending time being still as the spirit reveals and opens up the word of God in our hearts. We can hold firmly to the truths that are revealed to us and the hope that we have in Lord Yahushua as our High Priest. Just as if we are holding His very hand

About eudoranachand

A Spirit filled disciple who continually seeks His kingdom and His righteousness.
This entry was posted in Discipleship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Study of Hebrews Chapter Four

  1. Pingback: Yahushua Foretells His Betrayal John 13: 21-30 | Eudoranachand's Blog

Leave a Reply

