The Feast of Dedication

natural menorah

The Feast of Dedication wasn’t one of the Seven feast’s that God ordained, but it is a feast day that was instituted by man to commemorate the purification of the temple after a heathen king by the name of Antiochus Epiphanies’, defiled the temple of the God of Israel.

The Feast of Dedication is now a traditional holiday, similar to America’s traditional holidays such as Thanksgiving and Independence Day. Yahushua did however observe this feast that is often called Chanukah, which is the Hebrew transliteration of the word ‘dedication’. Because Yahushua did observe this feast, we can deduce that He did not find it unacceptable to remember a time of mercy, shown on behalf of a people and their place of gathering to worship in the temple of the God of Israel.

This feast falls around two months after the Feast of Tabernacles, one of the holy days that Yahwey did institute, while the mixed nation of peoples walked in the wilderness.

The Feast of Dedication often referred to as Chanukah began at sundown last Sabbath.

What I find interesting about what transpired during the brief mention of this traditional holiday in scripture was written by John the beloved. The Holy Spirit reveals to us in chapter ten what was going on and the season in which it occurs, (winter) and tells us that Yahushua walked in the temple, in Solomon’s Porch. A bunch of Jews gathered around Him and began to question how long He would keep them in doubt. I find that ironic. They were the ones who doubted who He was and who He claimed to be. He did not control their disbelief, nor does He control anyone’s disbelief.

Yahushua answered them, “I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father’s name, they bear witness of Me. But ye believe not, because ye are not of My sheep, as I said unto you. My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of My hand. My Father, which gave them Me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of My Father’s hand. I and my Father are one.

Yahushua knew full well that those people were trying to trap Him but He didn’t hesitate to tell them that they were not His sheep. It doesn’t matter how much His sheep are scattered here or there, in this country or that country, He knows where each and every one of His sheep are and none are lost to Him. No matter how the enemy tries to steal their identity, kill their hope or destroy their relationship with Him, the enemy cannot and does not have the power to pluck them from His hand that guides and protects those whom He has chosen.

To all who celebrate Yahushua as the light of the world, just as those who restored and then re-dedicated the temple again to the pure worship of the house of God, I celebrate with you. As the Hanukah Menorah is lit each evening at sundown on the memorial of this Winter festival, I too, have lit candles in remembrance. When I light the candles, I remember the words of Yahushua spoken later on that same evening. “As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

It is He whom I celebrate, Yahushua… The Light of the world.natural menorah

About eudoranachand

A Spirit filled disciple who continually seeks His kingdom and His righteousness.
This entry was posted in Holy Day's and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Feast of Dedication

  1. Pingback: They Cried Out | Eudoranachand's Blog

  2. Pingback: Feast of Weeks ~ Pentecost | Eudoranachand's Blog

  3. Pingback: Healing Faith | Eudoranachand's Blog

  4. Pingback: When Does Yahwey’s Scriptural New Year Begin? | Eudoranachand's Blog

  5. Pingback: What Does It Mean to ‘Be Born Again’? | Eudoranachand's Blog

  6. Pingback: Today’s Priesthood Requirements | Eudoranachand's Blog

Leave a Reply

