Standing on the Promise of Hebrews 4:12

Standing on the Promises

Hebrews 4:12 For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

This is the verse that I was reading the day that my life began to change. Why? Because just as it says, the word of God is alive and active and has the power of a two-edged sword to penetrate even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

My life was lived in darkness and I needed both an attitude change and a heart change.  More than anything,  I needed to learn how to live in this chaotic world that is falling apart at the seams.

This verse still reminds me to this day, just how important it is to continue reading the word of God. We do not need to judge what the Bible says. However we do need to let the words written in the Bible to judge us.

The Bible does not speak in the dead tones of the past but applies living truth to the people of yesterday, today and tomorrow because God is the same God as He was yesterday, today and will continue to be tomorrow.

When we read the word of God with an open heart, mind and spirit, we let the Spirit of God penetrate deeply into our lives. The inner reflections and attitudes of the heart quickly come under judgment against the standards of Scripture and the prescribed lifestyle that God’s law requires for us to live as we re-present Him on this earth. There is no hope for us apart from entering God’s rest, trusting in His Son Whom has become our High Priest and has purposely made the provision to intercede on our behalf; holding firmly to what we acknowledge as truth.

ScriptureSeedsLogo

ScriptureSeedsLogo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

John 1:1 tells us the Yahushua is the word that was spoken in the beginning and was with God in the beginning and that the word is God. So it shouldn’t be surprising that the Creator of all there is and all that exists would be able to use the words of scripture that He ordained as a tool to speak to, admonish and correct the human race that He created.  God inspired the written word so that it would be profitable for learning, teaching, conviction, educating and training us how to live righteously as God has prescribed in His written word.

When Yahushua returns to conquer wickedness at the End of Days, ‘His name is called The Word of God’ and ‘out of His mouth goes a sharp sword, that with it He should smite the nations: and He shall rule them with a rod of iron: and He treads the winepress of the fierceness and wrath of Almighty God.’ and all of this will occur while the eyes of Him to come must render an account are described like a fiery flame.

Actually our account is rendered to God, but God has committed all judgment to Yahushua. God shall judge the secrets of men through His Son, Yahushua; according to His word.

So having said all of this, I know for my own self how imperative it is that I read the word of God, study the word of God so that I will be approved by the Son of God according to all that I learn, heed to, educating and training myself to live according to the standards that God will approve me by, so that I will not be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth and applying it to my life on a daily basis.

I find that God’s word of truth deals straight forward with me in every detail of my life and I am more than ok with that because His ways are not my ways, they are higher AND because He knows me, loves me and wants what is best for me. He is faithful and can be completely trusted. I can always be learning and never be able to come to the full knowledge of the truth, but that does not mean that I should slack off and go about living my life as I think is best.

The more I endeavor to cultivate the word of God into my life the more my life improves because of having done so.

My suggestion is to read the word of God. Start at the very beginning and read it every day. Meditate on it, think on it and ask the Holy Spirit how you can apply that word in your own life so that you too, will become approved by God, showing yourself a workman that will not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

Someone is watching us closely and He is not impressed with our weak excuses. We cannot excuse our self by saying, “Look, we didn’t know.” For God understands all hearts and He sees us. He who guards our soul knows what we know and what we do not apply ourselves to knowing. He will repay (Render to) all people as their actions deserve.

 

English: The Bible

English: The Bible (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Get to work and read your Bible.  Even if you have read it before, read it again as if it is your first time.  It is still alive and can actively change your circumstance and your life.   It can be for you what it has become to me, a life changing experience.

Revelation  20:12 And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works.

About eudoranachand

A Spirit filled disciple who continually seeks His kingdom and His righteousness.
This entry was posted in Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Standing on the Promise of Hebrews 4:12

  1. Pingback: Eyes of the Blind Will Be Opened | Eudoranachand's Blog

Leave a Reply

