Where should I begin reading the Bible?

English: First book of Moses in danish transla...

People often ask me this question:  Where should I begin reading the Bible? My answer is always going to be, “Start at Genesis”,  and I will tell you why.

The Bible is full of awesome stuff but there are two passages in the Bible that most folks do not know of, simply because they do not read the Bible.  However, I am going to share something else first, so you might understand why you are being drawn to search out God.

First of all, you need to know that just like you have a name, the God of creation also has a name.  His name is Yah.  How do we know?  It is a bit complicated but you need to know so let’s get started. There is a fella named Moses who  was chosen to help a bunch of people get out of the bondage and slavery (Just like us) , so the Creator called upon this fella by the name of Moses.  Before Moses could even begin his quest, (Just like us) he wanted to know the name of the person who called him. So he asked.

English: Moses Pleading with Israel, as in Deu...

And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them? ~ Exodus 3:13

The Creator’s reply was this:   And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.  And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, The LORD God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations. ~ Exodus 3:14-15

The God of Creation who has always been, am, and shall always be: The God Almighty, by whom all things have their being, and the God of Mercy, mindful of His promise.

What does His name look like?  I AM THAT I AM = (ey’yah asher ey’yah) or, I am He who exists, The Eternal, who passes not away. If we look at this scripture with the interlinear (Something man has created and uses to transliterate the Hebrew and the Greek) in Exodus 3:14 where He reveals His name  we see this: And God <‘elohiym> said <‘amar> unto Moses, <Mosheh> I AM <hayah> THAT I AM: <hayah> and he said, <‘amar> Thus shalt thou say <‘amar> unto the children <ben> of Israel, <Yisra’el> I AM hath sent <shalach> me unto you.

God (Our Creator and Ruler) is Elohiym

I AM is Hayah pronounced ‘Haw-yaw’ meaning I am He who exists, The Eternal, who passes not away. I AM  has always been and will always be I AM.

However, many people argue over knowing His name because honestly, unless we were there when He spoke these words, we really do not know for certain what His name is, but we do know that it isn’t just ‘God’. I call Him Yah. But the truth is that the name of the Most High, may be that we cannot find the name until the most high Yah reveals it to us. So much is unknown to us at this time.

GreekIt is way more complicated than all this for instance: The elimination of pharyngeal articulation in the letters chet (ח) and ayin (ע) in the Hebrew letters that make up His name. The conversion of (ר) /r/ from an alveolar flap [ɾ] to a voiced uvular fricative [ʁ] or trill [ʀ] and the pronunciation (by many speakers) of tzere as [eɪ] in some contexts (sifrey and teysha instead of Sephardic sifré and tésha’).  See what I mean? It is also said to have been that the title “EL-O-HIM” is a false transliteration, according to the ancient Hebrew alphabet.  So what are we left with?

Calling Him ‘God’ even though He is The God of Creation, is not a real good idea because every religion has a god and all of their gods have a name. For instance, Islam uses Allah. There is Brahma, Ahura, Mazda, Buddha, Dagon, Moloch, Jupiter, Breged, and Zeus just to name a few. Why it is that Christianity is the only religion that doesn’t have a name for their god?

Austin - Texas State Capitol: The Ten Commandments

In the Ten Commandments that Yah utters, He says this: “Thou shalt have no other god’s before Me.” ~ Exodus 20:3, so we really cannot use the name of other god’s when we call upon Him. The name that He Himself the MOST HIGH gave was ‘I AM that I AM’, Ahayah Asher Ahayah.  This is why I call Him Yah as do many others who care about His name and want to honor His name.   We can read in the scriptures where  Yahushua  (Yah’s only begotten Son whom many folks call Jesus)  taught His disciples,  how to pray.  You might even be familiar to these words: Our Father (Abba in Hebrew), in the heavens, hollowed be Thy name. Hollowed means to honor.

So in prayer (Conversation),  I will call upon Him as Abba but in the world I refer to Him as Yah unless folks do not know of whom I speak,  then I just say God because I know that they are believing in the same God of Creation,  The God of Israel.

 MOVING ON:

Most folks start to recognize that they are immortal and that one day they will die.  There are many reasons that folks begin their search for the God of Creation but I believe this is the biggest reason.  We humans have a hard time facing the fact that we are going to die and somehow want to hold on to the life that we have.  However, there is a reason.  It is because God placed with-in the human being, two different things.

# 1. He gave us a measure of faith so that we could believe in Him with all of our heart if we really wanted too and

# 2. He placed the desire in us to know Him.

Romans 12:3 For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God has dealt to every man the measure of faith.

He has planted within humanity a measured portion of faith, enough faith to at least begin a relationship with the Creator.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 ¶ He has made everything beautiful in His time: also He has set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God makes from the beginning to the end.

The words, ‘He has set the world in their heart’, needs to be properly translated to understand it.  This is to understand that He has placed eternity in the heart, without which man could not find out the work which God has made from the commencement (of creation) to the end.”

The kingdom of GodYah has deeply rooted the idea of eternity in every human heart; and every considerate man sees that all the operations of Yah refer to that endless duration.  Everyone comes to the same conclusion that they must be here for a reason and that their life must therefore have a purpose. And it is only in eternity that man will be able to discover what Yah has designed by the various works He has formed.

Ecclesiastes 3:14. I know that, whatsoever God does, it shall be forever: nothing can be put to it, nor any thing taken from it: and God does it, that men should fear before Him.

Anyway, the only way to find out about the promise of a life here after is that one must accept that Yahushua has become the sacrificed lamb, confess that they have done wrong in Yah’s eyes (Repentance),  turn away from sin  and then begin reading the scriptures asking for His Holy and Spiritual vision to understand what you are reading . The next step would be to begin living your life accordingly.

Some begin their search by reading and they find Him through the scriptures.  This is how it happened for me. Even though most folks know nothing of the scriptures, they do know or have heard somewhere, that there is a God and His Son.

OK, so for the passage to help you to understand why I chose to tell you to begin at the book of Genesis is because if these two scriptures:

Isaiah 46:9-10 Remember the former things of old: for I am God, and there is none else; I am God, and there is none like me, Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure:

Life is a precious gift. Don't waste it being ...

Life is a precious gift. Don’t waste it being unhappy, dissatisfied, or anything else you can be (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

What God is saying through the Prophet Isaiah is that the end of time as we know it; was declared in the beginning of time.  He declared in the beginning of time, what He expected of His people and how He will go about bringing His plan into its fulfillment and manifestation.  If someone wants to know how it will all end, even their own life; they must read and accept how life began.  This is how we officially meet God is through His WORD.

PROMISES THAT HE CAN BE FOUND:

God spoke these words in the beginning to Moses to tell the children of Israel:   “But if from thence thou shalt seek the LORD thy God, thou shalt find Him, if thou seek Him with all thy heart and with all thy soul.”  ~ Deuteronomy 4:29

He said it again through His prophet Isaiah and the prophet Jeremiah.

Isaiah 55: 6-7  Seek ye the LORD while He may be found, call ye upon Him while He is near: Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the LORD, and He will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for He will abundantly pardon.

Jeremiah 29:13 And ye shall seek Me, and find Me, when ye shall search for Me with all your heart.

Yah even said it a different way again through the mouth of Jeremiah:  And I will give them an heart to know Me, that I am the LORD: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God: for they shall return unto Me with their whole heart. ~ Jeremiah 24:7

He really wants us to know Him.  This is our purpose and the plan for our lives.  In what man has titled the New Testament; Matthew wrote the following words: But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. ~ Matthew 6:33

To me, it’s like a proposal of marriage.  Its like Yahshua is saying,  “If you will come and live with Me and be part of my family, I will provide everything that you need.  I will bring you into My house but you just gotta remember and be respectful because it is my Father’s house and He has rules that we have to abide by in order to receive all the blessings that He offers.”  If we do not abide in Him, there will be consequences.  These are called curses. In order to receive the blessings, we first have to choose ‘life’.

Leviticus 26:40-42 ¶ If they shall confess their iniquity, and the iniquity of their fathers, with their trespass which they trespassed against me, and that also they have walked contrary unto me; And that I also have walked contrary unto them, and have brought them into the land of their enemies; if then their uncircumcised hearts be humbled, and they then accept of the punishment of their iniquity: Then will I remember my covenant with Jacob, and also my covenant with Isaac, and also my covenant with Abraham will I remember; and I will remember the land.

Look at Earth from the Heaven

Deuteronomy 30:19-20 I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live: That thou may love the LORD thy God, and that thou may obey his voice, and that thou may cleave unto him: for he is thy life, and the length of thy days: that thou may dwell in the land which the LORD sware unto thy fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, to give them.

So my final thoughts are this: It is a great book anyway you look at it.  In it we find all sorts of awesome things that tell us how we are created,  how life first began, how the God of the Universe, the Creator,  the great I AM, spoke to certain people so that they would get the message out that He loves us and wants to have a relationship with His created. He has  expectation’s on how we are to live our lives and this is how we learn about kingdom life and what it will be like in that future kingdom. He makes the offer and it is our responsibility to respond.

It’s like reading any other book, you start at the beginning and you read the book until you reach the end.

reconciliationMake a choice:

CHOOSE LIFE!

REPENT

And get busy reading The Bible.

Start at The Beginning:  Genesis

NOTE: The scriptures I have used in this writing are from the King James Version, except that sometimes I have exchanged a word such as hath for the word has, just to make it easier to understand.

About eudoranachand

A Spirit filled disciple who continually seeks His kingdom and His righteousness.
This entry was posted in His Creation, The Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

