MEMORIES of Shirley

I was a CNA at the time when my mother-n-law Shirley was very ill. Somehow, I knew that morning before we even left for the hospital, she in an ambulance and my father-n-law and I off , each in our own rigs. that she would not be coming home again. When we got to the hospital , the Doc that was doing duty in the ER wanted to put her on a 100 mg pain patch and I asked him not to but to start with a 25 mg. I knew that the highest drug she’d ever had was vicodin. She was out of severe pain in about 25 minutes and resting comfortably. By 4:30 that evening, I knew that she would not make it through that night and told my father-n-law that I was going home to let them be alone.

He called me about 10:30 that night because he was worried and I rushed back to the hospital to be beside him, but she had already passed by the time I got there. But had the doc put the 100 mg patch on, I believed then and I still do today that they would not have had the short time they did to say their goodbyes because she would have relaxed so much from a 100 mg that I don’t think she would have even made it to the time I left that afternoon.

My father-n-law told methat Doc came back in around 1:00 P.M. that afternoon, worried that he had not put enough med on her and he was shocked to find her in the process of passing and when he did, he knew he had done the right thing. He originally thought that she would live for another few weeks. How many Doc’s do you know who would come back to a hospital in the afternoon after putting in a full shit in the ER, because they worried they had made a mistake? He is a very caring Doctor. I trust his heart!

*****

About the loneliness I can sure understand. I was pretty devastated when my mother-n-law passed away about ten years ago. She was my friend, my confidant, my mother, my kids grandmother and the one person I dearly loved so very much. After she passed away, my father-n-law looked up an ole girlfriend and I was so stunned and hurt and VERY ANGRY. Ten months after my friend was gone, he moved in with his ole girlfriend.

I was reading about the creation one day and all the sudden it hit me. And the LORD God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him.”  I was knocked over with a feather.

He knew what He was doing when He was working in the days of creation. My father-n-law was lonely. I still don’t like the fact that they live together, and it has been an on and off again kinda situation for my father-n-law.

The last time he came home, when he was getting ready to leave, I told him that I would miss him and he turned around and said, “I will miss you too” Again, I was knocked me over with a feather. I had never shared my true feelings with my father-n-law like that and neither had he towards me.

He told me that he may be back permanently and I told him that would be nice too. As the years go by, I think I am coming to a conclusion that I have a friend in him as well and have just simply missed embracing that part of what could be a great relationship and just as rewarding as the one I had with his wonderful wife.

About eudoranachand

A Spirit filled disciple who continually seeks His kingdom and His righteousness.
This entry was posted in MEMORIES. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MEMORIES of Shirley

  1. Hi there! Ꮪomeone in my Fаcebook group shared thіs
    site with us so I ϲme to check it out. I’m defiunitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful bloɡ
    and wonderful design and ѕtyle.

Leave a Reply

