WHAT ARE THE TEN COMMANDMENTS?

A description of God’s unchangeable character and ways of life and thinking. are found in the book of Exodus, chapter 20.

20: 1 And God spake all these words, saying,

20: 2 I [am] the LORD thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage.

20: 3 Thou shalt have no other gods before Me.

20: 4 Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness [of any thing] that [is] in heaven above, or that [is] in the earth beneath, or that [is] in the water under the earth:

20: 5 Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God [am] a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth [generation] of them that hate Me;

20: 6 And showing mercy unto thousands of them that love Me, and keep my commandments.

20: 7 Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh His name in vain.

20: 8 Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

20: 9 Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work:

20: 10 But the seventh day [is] the sabbath of the LORD thy God: [in it] thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that [is] within thy gates:

20: 11 For [in] six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them [is], and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.

20: 12 Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.

20: 13 Thou shalt not kill.

20: 14 Thou shalt not commit adultery.

20: 15 Thou shalt not steal.

20: 16 Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.

20: 17 Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that [is] thy neighbour’s.

20: 18 And all the people saw the thunderings, and the lightnings, and the noise of the trumpet, and the mountain smoking: and when the people saw [it], they removed, and stood afar off.

This law can never be changed by man. Every piece of it is important to God and should be extremely important to us. We may have to die for our belief. Ten people were killed in October last year right here in Oregon at a community college in Douglas County. They died because they were singled out and asked if they were a Christian. If they said they were Christians, they were shot … Are you prepared?

Some day I might be called upon to be faithful unto death. But in the words of Yahushua Himself, He will give me the crown of life. What folks may not understand or comprehend is that this life is only a temporary life. When we die, one day we will be resurrected from the grave. This is when the life that we are really meant to live will truly begin. in the mean time, all God asks is that we show Him we love Him by keeping His commandments. ALL of them.

When I begin to doubt, I often ask myself these questions. Eudora, doesn’t the word of God say that you can do all things through Christ which strengthens you? Is God a man of His word or not? And didn’t Jesus say that with God, ALL things are possible? Is He to weak to be able to keep my feet on that narrow way towards that straight gate? Do you have the Spirit of truth or not? Do you worship a God whose arm is too short to save you? Are you going to love your life unto death or love your life unto life? I begin to perk up because I KNOW that He is faithful to keep His word and that He never changes.

Please keep this in the forefront of your mind. Man may THINK that He has changed God’s law but he hasn’t and will never do so. God’s law is eternal just like His love is eternal.

It was when I began to really focus on the ten commandments that God spoke to me through His Spirit. I knew that because of His power, I could certainly honor and observe His commandments. Really when you think of it, how hard is it to resist the temptation to steal, lie, not commit adultery, lie about your neighbor and covet what God gave him. How hard is it to make it through a year without killing someone? When it came to the fourth commandment, I began to get very uncomfortable.

I grew up in the church. My father was an ordained minister and my mother taught Sunday school. I grew up believing in the scriptures and what I was taught. I was told many times that the scriptures were ordained by God. It was not until I was fourty eight years old that I began to read the Bible for myself under the guidance of the Holy Spirit. I learned in those first six months that if I kept God first and foremost as the God who I had been chose to follow, that He would take care of the rest. All I had to do was love Him more than life itself and not to love my own life to death. That is exactly what the Bible says.

About eudoranachand

A Spirit filled disciple who continually seeks His kingdom and His righteousness.
This entry was posted in The Teachings of God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

